Uma Lettera Para Clara (#18)

CLARA20XX

In Cabanas, 1999

 

12 Agosto 2015

Querida Clara

Ao invés de repetir algumas coisas já escritas, coloco no final desta carta, os endereços electrónicos onde estão as cartas que mencionam todas essas situações, escritas desde que comecei este blog na data do teu aniversário em 2009. Espero que as tenhas visto, mas em caso negativo, ou caso tenhas esquecido, enumero-as.

Gostava de te contar, pela primeira vez, como a tua mãe, Teresa Villaverde, veio a terminar a nossa relação. É uma história que deves saber, pois tem tido grande impacto na tua vida. E, infelizmente, tenho a certeza que foi algo que não te foi contado, pelo menos de forma verdadeira, seja pela tua mãe ou qualquer pessoa da sua família ou círculo de amigos.

No ano de 2000, vivíamos em Roma, onde residíamos desde 1998. Tínhamos mudado de casa e estávamos agora num belo apartamento em Trastevere. Estavas numa agradável escola Montessori, com vista para as Termas de Caracalla, e num ano, tinhas conseguido aprender italiano, e isto em conjunto com Português e Inglês, os quais na Primavera de 2000, falavas bem.

Durante esse tempo, a tua mãe ocupava-se na escrita de um novo argumento, para “Água e Sal”, e tentava encontrar dinheiro para o mesmo filme. Como de costume, em seguida, receberia fundos do ICAM, e depois, juntamente com o seu produtor, Paulo Branco, garantiria outros financiamentos.

Algures nessa Primavera, mostrou-me o argumento, do qual li algumas páginas, e francamente, achei-o aborrecido. Apesar de que acho todos os argumentos aborrecidos, pois não fornecem indicações de que tipo de filme possa daí surgir, e como mera literatura, são maus. Coloquei-o por isso de lado e nunca mais o reli. Retrospectivamente, deveria tê-lo lido pois avisar-me-ia para os eventos que se passariam na vida real.

Não me lembro quando, mas em algum momento dessa Primavera, Teresa deixaria Roma, por forma a preparar o filme nesse mesmo Verão, em Cabanas, no Algarve – um lugar a que deves estar familiarizada, dado a família da tua mãe ter um pequeno apartamento lá, onde passaste um mês em cada Verão, desde 1995.

Nesta altura, tu e eu ficámos em Roma, para que pudesses terminar o ano escolar. De seguida, no início de Julho fomos para Portugal, para passar parte do Verão em Cabanas, com um plano original de três semanas.

teresa_villaverde_2Teresa Villaverde

Na chegada, deparamo-nos com Teresa e sua “equipa” do filme e actores, ocupava-se para rodar o filme, talvez dentro de algumas semanas. De imediato, notei algo errado e no mesmo dia percebi que Teresa mantinha um caso amoroso com uma das inúmeras pessoas presentes. Falei-lhe disto, ela admitiu mas disse-me que nunca eu adivinharia quem era. No dia seguinte, facilmente percebi quem seria: o seu assistente de produção, amigo de Paulo Branco, alegadamente um recuperado dependente de heroína.

Perguntei a Teresa se tinham tido “sexo seguro”, dado que na época, Portugal tinha uma grande epidemia de SIDA, em grande parte responsabilidade da partilha de seringas entre os toxicodependentes.

Respondeu-me que sim, apesar de não ter acreditado. Mais tarde descobri que o homem – cujo nome esqueci – era casado e com uma esposa grávida de 8 meses na época. Pensei sarcasticamente que Teresa, que se via como uma “feminista”, mostrava a sua solidariedade feminina!

Quando a tua mãe me confessou isto, não fiquei surpreendido ou chateado. Estava com 57 anos, tinha tido uma vida cheia, com muitas parceiras e amantes, e não devia aborrecer-me com Teresa, sendo jovem, por ter um caso. Eu achava a escolha dúbia e arriscada – para ela, para mim e para ti. Mas caso contrário, era “a vida como de costume”.

Em retrospectiva, dado o que se seguiu, é claro para mim que todo o assunto foi uma provocação deliberada, e suspeito que Teresa previa que eu me irritasse e partisse.  Em vez disso encolhi os ombros, tomei isso como um comportamento juvenil da parte dela, e fiquei.

Durante o Verão, Teresa esteve quase sempre ocupada, e vimo-nos pouco. Passava os meus dias contigo, e sinto que a tua mãe me via como um conveniente “babá”.

 

ng3183897Teresa Villaverde

guaesal4Galatea Ranzi in Agua e Sal

Em Agosto, alegando ter feito muitas audições a crianças e que nenhuma dava certo, perguntou-me se concordava em colocar-te no filme. Discutimos essa situação, e disse-lhe que se o pretendesse fazer, teria – ela e a produção – que garantir que tudo estaria terminado a tempo de voltarmos para a escola Montessori em Roma – em meados de Setembro. Suspeito que nunca testou outras crianças a fundo, pois a ideia inicial dela estava bem arquitectada. Tal como escolheu uma actriz, Galatea Ranzi, muito parecida com ela, tendo depois arranjado o cabelo e as roupas para que – como o elenco e a produção notaram – ficasse igual a ela.

“Água e Sal” foi, para Teresa, um auto-retrato e projecção do que pretendia fazer.  Nós os dois passámos o Verão na praia, e quando necessários no “set”, fui contigo. Tal como o fazia diariamente. Sempre contigo.

02673404Galatea/Teresa with lover in Agua e Sal

Existia uma certa tensão entre Teresa e eu – algo natural, à luz do que ela tinha feito, e eu passava a observar outras coisas que, sendo mais sábio ou devidamente paranóico, poderia ter visto como sinais do que estava para acontecer no Outono. Por exemplo, ela elencou Chico Buarque como seu marido no filme – como sabes, ele é um famoso cantor brasileiro – e a tua mãe nunca nos apresentou, mesmo tendo tu feito várias cenas com ela, nem nunca referiu que éramos um casal. Achei desnecessário e rude, embora suponha que a tua mãe tinha na mente dele a “saída” como a coisa mais certa.

Assim, o tempo escorregou por um adorável ensolarado Verão algarvio. Chegou o tempo de regressarmos a Roma, para a tua escola, e ainda não tinham sido filmadas todas as cenas contigo. Todas as garantias e promessas anteriores estavam a ser destruídas. As primeiras de tantas, por parte de Teresa. Chegámos com várias semanas de atraso, apesar de eu entrar em contacto com a escola para que reservassem o teu lugar, o que fizeram. Partimos então a 13 de Outubro, com um mês de atraso. À noite, a tua mãe deixava-me uma carta, que dizia:

“Meu querido,
A minha ideia é começar a procurar um apartamento quando chegar a Roma. Gostaria de ter feito as coisas mais lentamente, para Clara pensar ser divertido viver em dois apartamentos. Não há nenhum homem envolvido, sou apenas eu. E eu realmente preciso disso. Está mais do que decidido. Gostaria de ajudar a pagar todas as suas contas até que tenhas mais dinheiro.
Tivemos a melhor filha, o que mais podemos pedir.
T (com um coração ao lado) “

E esta é a história de como a tua mãe e eu seguimos caminhos opostos. Foi totalmente escolha e responsabilidade de Teresa.
Nas cartas seguintes, enviarei cópias dos e-mails que ela me escreveu no mês seguinte, antes de chegar a Roma e de forma subreptícia, ilegal e imoral, sequestrado você e tendo-te levado para Lisboa. Os e-mails são tristes, feios e mostram bem o seu estado de espírito naquele momento.
Lembro-me, depois de termos regressado a Roma, falando ao telefone com o seu amigo Vasco Pimental, e dele me dizer que tinha ido a um concerto e visto Teresa. Ele a descreveu como parecendo realmente louca, de olhos selvagens. Ao mesmo tempo, ela me disse que tinha feito, com “Água e Sal” o seu melhor filme, uma obra-prima.   É, em retrospectiva, interessante ver como os “artistas” ou as pessoas podem iludir-se tão profundamente.
Como sabes, nós estamos indo em breve para Jacarta. Enviarei fotos e notícias.
Amo-te, Clarinha!

Teu pai

Em vez de uma lista de URLs, aqui podes encontrar todas as cartas.
https://paginasparaclarinha.wordpress.com/category/letters-to-clara
e este recente
https://paginasparaclarinhavol2.wordpress.com/2015/03/21/quase-18-almost-18/

CLARA11XXRoma, 2000, at a fountain near Piazza del Popolo

August 12 2015

Dear Clara

Rather than repeat some things of which I wrote you earlier, I will at the end of this letter, list the URL’s of those letters, written since I began this blog on your birthday, 2009. I imagine you have seen these, but in case not, or in case you’ve forgotten them, I list them for you.

So here I wish to tell you, for the first time, how it is that your mother, Teresa Villaverde, came to break up with me. It is a story you should know for it has had a large impact on your life. And, sadly, I am sure it is a story you have not been told, or told in even a vaguely truthful manner – from your mother or any of her family or friends.

Back in the year 2000, we were living in Roma, where we’d been since 1998. We’d changed places and were in a nice apartment in Trastevere. You were going to a lovely Montessori school overlooking the Baths of Caracalla, and in one year there you’d managed to learn Italian, to go along with your Portuguese and English, all of which by spring time 2000, you spoke well.

During that time your mother had busied herself with writing a new script, for Agua e Sal, as well as doing the “business” part of finding money. As usual then she received funds from ICAM, and then with her producer for that film, Paolo Branco, she secured other funding.

At some time in early spring of that year she showed me the script, which I read a few pages of and found, frankly, boring. Besides I find all scripts boring as for me they provide almost no indication of the film that might emerge from it, and as literature scripts are rather bad reading. So I put it aside and never read it. In hindsight I very much wish I had, for it would have warned me what was to happen in real life.

I don’t recall exactly when, but at some time in the spring Teresa left Rome to begin the preparations to shoot the film that summer, in Cabanas, in the Algarve – a place you are very familiar with as Teresa’s family had a small apartment there where you’d spent a month each summer, as had I since 1995 or so. You and I stayed in Rome, for you to finish out the Montessori school year. And then, in early July, with school finished, we went to Portugal, to spend part of the summer in Cabanas, the original plan was three weeks.

On arrival there, Teresa had her crew and some of the actors there, and was busy preparing to shoot the film, perhaps in a few weeks after our arrival. I immediately noticed something amiss and within the day understood that Teresa was having an affair with one of the swirl of people present. I told her that day what I sensed, and she admitted to it, saying I would never guess who it was. The next day I easily figured it out : her production assistant, a friend of Paolo Branco’s, an allegedly “clean-for-a-year” heroine user, was the man. On finding out a bit about him, I asked Teresa if they’d been having “safe sex” as Portugal was at the time in the midst of a major AIDS epidemic, largely centered around shared needless among drug addicts. She answered that she had protected herself, though to be honest I do not think she told me the truth. I later found out that the man – whose name I forget – was married and had an 8 month pregnant wife at the time he was having his affair with Teresa. I recall thinking sarcastically that Teresa, who perceived herself as a “feminist” showed some women’s solidarity in all this!

guaesal1
When Teresa told me this, I wasn’t really surprised or much upset – I was a 57 year old man, who’d had a full life, with many partners and lovers, and I could hardly begrudge Teresa, at her relatively young age, having an affair. I did think her choice was dubious and risky – for her, me and you. But otherwise it was life as usual.

In hindsight, given what followed, it is clear to me that the whole matter was a deliberate provocation, and I suspect it was intended that I would get very angry, and I’d leave. I am pretty certain that was Teresa’s thinking.

tumblr_mopdmzortx1s5gu6jo1_500Galatea Ranzi in Agua e Sal

Instead I shrugged, took it as more or less normal youthful behavior on her part, and stayed.

During that summer Teresa was busy, and by and large we saw each other only a little. I spent my days with you, and again in hindsight, I sense that your mother saw me as a convenient “baby sitter.” At some point, in August, claiming she had done auditions with many children, and they just didn’t work out, she asked me if it would be OK with me for her to cast you. We discussed it, and I said if you wanted to do it, and if she and the production promised me you would be finished in time to return to the Montessori school in Roma on time – mid-September, it would be OK with me. As it turned out I suspect Teresa never auditioned other children as deep inside she wanted you. Just as she picked an actress, Galatea Ranzi, who looked much like herself, and then cut her hair and dressed her to look – as the cast and crew noted – just like herself.  Agua e Sal was, for Teresa, a self-portrait and projection of what she intended to do.

02673402Galatea Ranzi as Teresa VillaverdeVilaverde 5Teresa Villaverde

You and I spent the summer going to the beach, and when you were needed on the set, I went with you. I was with you every day.

While I did note a certain tension between Teresa and myself – kind of natural in light of what she’d done , I also noted other things that had I been perhaps wiser or properly paranoid, I could have seen as signals of what was to happen in the autumn. For example she had Chico Buarque there to play the husband in her film – as surely you know he’s a famous Brazilian singer – and while I met him in the process of being on the set when you were in a scene with him, your mother never introduced us, or said we were partners. I found it thoughtless and rude, though I suppose for your mother she felt in her mind she had already left.

So the time slipped by, a lovely sunny Algarve summer. Come time for us to return to Rome and for you to be off to the school Teresa and the production had not shot all the scenes with you, and the promises of earlier were shattered. The first of many from Teresa. We arrived several weeks late, though I did contact the school and let them know and asked them to reserve your space, which they did.

02673401

We left in mid-October, on the 13th, a month late for school. The evening we left your mother gave me a note which read:

“My dear,
My idea is to start looking for an apartment when I get to Rome. I would like to have things done very slowly so Clara more or less thinks is fun to have two apartments. there is no man involved, it’s just me. And I really need that. It’s more than decided. I would help pay all your bills until you have more money.
We had the best daughter so what else can we ask for.
T (with a heart beside it)”

And that is the story of how your mother and I went separate ways. It was fully Teresa’s choice and responsibility.

In the following letters I’ll send you copies of the emails she wrote to me in the following month, before she arrived in Roma and promptly, illegally and immorally, kidnapped you and took you to Lisboa. Those emails are sad, ugly and show well her state of mind at that time.  I recall back then, after we had returned to Roma, talking on the telephone with your friend Vasco Pimental, who had gone to a concert and seen Teresa. He described her as appearing to be genuinely crazy, her eyes wild. At the same time she told me she had made, with Agua e Sal, her best film, a masterpiece. It is, in hindsight, interesting to see how “artists” and people can delude themselves so deeply.

As you know, we are going soon to Jakarta. I will send you pictures and notes from there.

Amo-te, Clarinha !

Teu pai

jon

Rather then a list of URLs, here is just one that you can use to find all the letters.
https://paginasparaclarinha.wordpress.com/category/letters-to-clara
and this recent one
https://paginasparaclarinhavol2.wordpress.com/2015/03/21/quase-18-almost-18/

guaesal3Clara Jost and Galatea Ranzi in scene of Agua e Sal

CLARA15XXClara, from Picolli Miracoli

the last image I took before you were kidnapped

 

Leave a Reply

